Posted on

Ocean House

Life is hard.

Life is hard.

Liberia is a not a big country in terms of population, and its capital Monrovia is a small, sleepy place. It can get a bit suffocating on the weekends as there is not much to do and not many places to go. As a little escape from the  urban ennui, my husband and I took a short taxi ride just to the outskirts of the city to spend the weekend at the Ocean House, a new bed and breakfast that just opened.

Actually, it could be Liberia’s first bed and breakfast. There are plenty of commercial hotels and grimy guest houses, but this is the first place I have seen with character. It is tastefully decorated, well managed by an Liberian-American family, and delightfully serene.

For once, there are no televisions, and no bad music blasting on a bad sound system – only the birds chirping and the waves crashing in the distance. And, did I mention that they have hammocks and serve banana nut pancakes for breakfast? Thumbs up.

About Home Strange Home

I first left the US in 1999, when I was 18 years old. Since then, I’ve spent 13 years living abroad - 3 in Canada, 7 in Europe, and 3 in Africa. Now I've finally returned to the US on a one-way plane ticket. I arrived home in late January 2014 and set foot in the US for the first time in nearly 2.5 years. In Home Strange Home, I blog about the ups and downs of my re-acculturation experience.

3 responses to “Ocean House

  1. Nancy ⋅

    First of all, I disagree that Monrovia is sleepy place and that there’s not much to do on weekends and many places to go.There are plenty of things to do on weekends, Monrovia is Funrovia and I indeed like it.Furthermore, I enjoy it. In addition to that, the Ocean House is great, the persons who run the place are understanding and kind. I’ve spent some time there and I will make sure to spread the word to my friends how nice and beautiful it is.I’m sure I’ll visit the Ocean House again with my friends.

  2. Nick Dow ⋅

    do you have a contact details for Ocean House, need a place 24 march 2014 for 2 weeks

Leave a Reply

